Last Updated on May 30, 2022

Scholars' Program

Congratulations and THANK YOU, Charlestown Residents! With your generous donations, the 2022 resident Scholar Campaign raised $195,951 for the Charlestown Scholars’ Program! Along with the resident campaign amount raised, we also received two large gifts this year. 

One of these was in the form of an estate gift from Millie Lamp in the amount of $173,707 and the other was a corporate gift that was facilitated by John Remias to sponsor a new STEM Scholarship for years to come. So, in TOTAL we had $398,087 for our Charlestown Scholar Fund! This program allows us to offer academic financial assistance to our eligible student-employees here at Charlestown.

We hope you were able to join us in-person or see a rebroadcast, for the 2022 Scholars’ Ceremony, when we celebrated our 2022 Scholar Class by awarding 8 new Traditional scholarships and 5 One-Year scholarships. This class of Scholars will join the current 110 Charlestown Scholars, eleven of whom have graduated this spring.

Our Traditional Scholars will receive up to $3,000 per year for up to four years, and our One-Year Scholars will receive up to $3,000 for one year (renewable). Funds will be sent to their college or university to offset their academic tuition expenses. In addition, new this year, each of our Scholars will be receiving a one-time $500 Technology Grant. The grant was made possible this year in memory of Don Brodeur, and will continue going forward utilizing the funds left to the program by Millie Lamp. This grant will assist students in the purchase of technology that will put them on the right foot as they begin their higher education.

Along with the Charlestown Scholarship, the Scholar Candidates had an opportunity to apply for additional merit-based Named/Partnership Scholarships. The following Scholars received these special awards: Jonah Nicholson ~ the Andrew Murray Myers Scholarship ($3,000); Joshebel Abase ~ the Fenton & Ted Robb Memorial Scholarship ($2,000); Hannah Schwab ~ The Bettye Gray Memorial Scholarship ($4,000); Siora Rummel ~ the Treasure Sale Scholarship ($2,000). Christen Gibson and Amaya Jones-Core the two new STEM Scholarships sponsored by AITP-Baltimore. Kayode Gbeleye, Martins Osunnuga and Shawn Watson our 3 new Health Sciences Scholarships sponsored by our Charlestown Retired Nurses. Alan Vithayathil earned the UMBC Partnership Scholarship ($10,000); and Marissa Stevenson was presented with the Committee Recognition Award ($1000).

We thank our Alumni guest speaker, Doug Brown, a Fruit of our Scholars’ Program, and the current Staff Development Manager for our Dining Department. Doug was a Charlestown Class of 1993 member and graduated from Mt. St. Joseph’s High School and Towson State University. After college, Doug taught at Our Lady of Fatima in Baltimore and South River High School. Doug was insightful and inspiring, even offering some wisdom from Yoda.

We thank each of our residents who made a donation to the 34th Annual Scholar Campaign, without whom we would not be able to offer this opportunity to the student-employees that work so hard for all of us. This scholarship, for some, makes the difference in their ability to afford to go to college and continue their education. If you did not have an opportunity to donate, but would like to, donations for the Scholar Program can be made year-round with the Philanthropy Department.

A special note of appreciation to my fellow 2022 Scholar Committee members: Norma Goldberg, Roland Gray, Mel Milio, Marie Skane, Jackie Graham, Ed DeLong, Eugenia High, Mimi O’Donnell, Elva Tillman, and to the Philanthropy Department team of Lisa Zehring, Emily Fowler and Patti Santoni.

If you were unable to attend the Scholar Ceremony on May 18th, or if you just want to enjoy it again, the video is available on MyErickson under Community Videos/ Philanthropy/ Charlestown Scholars. Thank you again, for donating!

Charlie Eichenlaub
Scholars’ Committee Chair