Last Updated on June 13, 2022

The Charlestown Sluggers defeated OakCrest, 11 – 4 on Wednesday June 8, 2022. The Sluggers decisive win over OakCrest marks our first Championship win, as OakCrest has taken home the trophy the last 10 seasons.

Lead by Coach Bob Nitsch, the Sluggers worked hard to prepare for the championship series and their focus, talent and energy brought the first place trophy home to Charlestown.

Players and spectators from our sister communities, OakCrest, Riderwood and Greenspring, enjoyed a beautiful sunny day rekindling friendly rivalries and social interaction while enjoying America’s favorite pastime.

Charlestown Sluggers Roster:

Mark Buehlman           Don Burgard                     Lou Cuneo
Ron DeAbreu              Steve Davis                       Ron Dempsey
Bill Fleming                 Charles Fischbach            Jane Janssen
Joy Janssen                Rick Jones                        Dave Kramer
Bob Larson                  Larry Lough                     Joe Loveland
Jim Mallon                   Bob Nitsch (Coach)          Lynn Stanko
Joe Sullivan


Tournament Results:
Charlestown defeated Riderwood 9 – 0
OakCrest defeated Greenspring 9 – 3
Greenspring defeated Riderwood 8 – 0